4th Micro and Nano Flows Conference University College London, UK, 7-10 September 2014


MNF 2014 Photo Gallery

Closing Message from the Organising Committee

The 4th successful run of the Micro and Nano Flows conference series, MNF2014, was held at University College London from 7 – 10 September following preceding runs at the University of Strathclyde in 2006, Brunel University in 2009 and Thessaloniki, Greece, in 2011. Since its inaugural run the conference has been going from strength to strength growing in terms of both, topic areas and delegate numbers attracting in excess of 180 delegates.

The Conference Chair and Scientific Secretary were Prof Tassos Karayiannis and Dr Carola König, respectively, both from the College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences at Brunel University London. The local organising committee at UCL was led by local chair Dr Stavroula Balabani from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, supported by her co-chair Prof Panagiota Angeli from the Department of Chemical Engineering, both in the Faculty of Engineering Science. Sadly Brunel’s Visiting Professor Michael Collins, member of the conference organising committee, passed away just days before the event. With the vision of previous meetings to seed for interdisciplinary exchange between fields like engineering and medicine, the topic areas covered were biomedical flows, micro fluidics and heat transfer, single and multiphase flows and were extended to include nanofluids and biotechnology. Special Sessions included an Expert Session on New Ultrafine Optical Measurement Methods, initiated by Michael, as well as sessions on Mathematical Modelling of Multiphase Flows and on Lab-on-a-Chip. The conference was enriched by sight visits to the London Centre of Nanotechnolgy and a most enjoyable conference dinner cruise along the Thames. As with the preceding conferences a variety of post-conference publications are underway. The organising committee is pleased to announce that MNF2016 will be held in Milan, Italy in September 2016.






© Brunel University 2010-12